Top Ten Books I want to Read

I was able to read quite a few good stories this semester, but there’s still a lot more out there!  Ten books that I’m interested in reading (in no particular order):

1. Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli: I became a big fan of Spinelli’s writing this semester.  The book takes place in Poland during World War II.Milkweed.jpg

2. My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett: The cover really interested me, with the reds and blues.  It’s about a child rescuing a baby dragon on an island.my fathers dragon

3. Frog and Toad Together, Frog and Toad All Year, Days with Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel: I thought the first Frog and Toad book, Frog and Toad Are Friends, was excellent and very funny.Frog and Toad Together book coverFrog and Toad All YearDays with frog and toad

4. The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis: I’ve read quite a few of the Chronicles of Narnia series this semester but haven’t gotten to the 7th and final book yet.the last batte

5. Son by Lois Lowry: I read the second (Gathering Blue) and third (Messenger) of Lowry’s The Giver series but still need to check out Son, the grand finale.  Hopefully it’s a good book, the cover below says it’s “thrilling!”son lois lowry

6. The Crossover by Kwame Alexander: I saw this book on one of my fellow student’s Top Ten lists, and it caught my interest.  I haven’t read a basketball book in a while, and it sounds very unique.the crossover

7. The Snowy Day by Ezra Jacks Keats: Winner of the 1963 Caldecott Medal looks like a very fun book!The Snowy Day

8. Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! by Mo Willems: I noticed this book in a few of my classmate’s blog posts, and Willems seems like a very good writer.dont let the pigeon drive the bus

9. Grandpa Green by Lane Smith: Looks like an unique book.  Goodreads calls it “a timeless story of family history, legacy, and love.”Grandpa Green

10. Finding Winnie by Lindsay Mattick and illustrated by Sophie Blackall: Seems like a very fun story about the origin of Winnie-the-Pooh.Finding Winnie book cover

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I want to Read

  1. What a good idea to put together a list of books you want to read. I would strongly encourage you to read the Crossover. It is a great book and the ending will get you. Thanks for sharing your list!

    Like

  2. I love the idea of a Top 10 list of books you still want to read! All great titles, too. I’ve been looking for Finding Winnie at the library and they just aren’t purchasing it, so I think I need to buy it for myself! I’m planning to reread all the Frog & Toad books over the holidays too. I was so impressed anew with Frog & Toad Are Friends.

    Like

  3. I read Milkweed a couple of years ago and it is good, but intense. It is one of those historical fiction works that will never, ever leave you.
    I still need to read The Crossover and Finding Winnie. I’d love if you’d post your thoughts on these 10 books when you finish them!

    Like

Leave a comment