Reading Challenges and Plans

I have some goals that I plan to accomplish by the end of this class at the end of this semester.  First, I want to consistently read the 4 hours of week that we are supposed to.  Sometimes it’s kind of hard to get all my reading in, but so far I have been able to complete my weekly reading for the most part.  Next I want to read some books by some specific authors.  Roald Dahl is an author whose books I want to check out.  I really enjoyed The BFG when I read it in elementary school and am planning to read a Dahl book this semester, maybe Fantastic Mr. Fox or Danny the Champion of the World.  I’m also making a goal to read a book by C.S. Lewis.  I’m thinking of reading one of the Chronicles of Narnia books, although it will probably take me quite a while to finish.  Another author that I am interested in is Lois Lowry, and I hope to read one of her books this semester.  I’ve read both The Giver and Number the Stars during my earlier years, and I remember them to have been powerful books.

Chronicles of Narnia book coverfantastic mr. fox book cover

Finally, I am planning to read at least one story from Mike Lupica.  I am interested in sports, and I have heard that Lupica is a very good children sports writer.  Two books that I am considering reading from Lupica are The Underdogs and Fantasy League.

the underdogs book cover

Hopefully I’ll be able to stay focused on my reading and find books from Dahl, Lewis, Lowry, and Lupica this semester.  I also want to read some more Newbery Medal and Honor books, as the ones that I have checked out so far have been excellent.

7 thoughts on “Reading Challenges and Plans

  1. It sounds like you have a great plan on what your planning on doing thats wonderful. I agree I’m having a hard time getting in all the reading done. It seems like something is always going on. But good luck to you!

    Like

  2. It definitely helps me keep reading when I always have a plan for what I want to read next. My son’s 5th-grade teacher read James and the Giant Peach aloud to his class, and they all seemed to enjoy it. I find Dahl’s books kind of weird. They’re a bit creepy and the parents are always awful! I haven’t read any of the ones you mentioned, but they’re all on my list to read at some point. Dahl is definitely a book gap author for me–meaning I’ve got some big gaps in my reading when it comes to him. He’s a classic children’s author and I feel like I need to read more of his books. I think the first book in the Chronicles of Narnia is pretty short, so it might not take as much time as you imagine.

    Like

  3. I like how you made your goals to read book by certain authors! I always want to read book because of their genres! Ill have to try to find an author I like and try to read several of their books! I have heard that the Underdogs is a great story! It is on my to read list! I hope you enjoy it! Great post!

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed your goals. It sounds like you have a great plan and I hope you can stick with it! I liked that you had certain books and authors you wanted to read, that is awesome! I love James and the Giant Peach it is a favorite of mine since I was little! Fantastic Mr. Fox is amazing! I would suggest the movie as well, it is fun and up beat. Even though my sisters and I are all in college and one is a senior in high school, we still love to watch it together when we come home for breaks. Good luck though with your goals!

    Like

  5. I like that your goals are centered around reading more books by certain authors. I think it is a great way to set a reading goal. I decided to read more award winning books in the categories that we have discussed earlier this semester according the the ALA, which I enjoy because it gives me an area to focus on and still gives me enough variety that I don’t get bored. The authors you’ve chosen all seem to be big players in Children’s Lit- I’ll have to add them to my “Want to Read” list!

    Like

Leave a comment